Arts | innovation

Arts innovation

The Faculty of Arts is proud to present the event Arts|innovation taking place on Friday, November 18th, 2016. Join us for this event featuring keynote speakers and panellists with arts degrees — alumni, professionals, partners — who have gone on to become entrepreneurs or who have arrived at their current jobs via non-linear routes. Also on the bill:  a Dragons’ Den-style pitch competition!

 

Consult the schedule and Register!

 

Entrepreneurial mindset: taking your Faculty of Arts degree in an innovative direction

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Richard Carleton, BA Arts (uOttawa)

 

“Thinking entrepreneurially”

Richard Carleton, BA Arts (uOttawa)
CEO of Canadian Securities Exchange

Richard Carleton is the CEO of CNSX Markets Inc. In this role he is responsible for the strategic direction and management of the Canadian Securities Exchange.  Prior to this appointment, Richard served as Vice-President Corporate Development with responsibility for the technology, operations and trading sales teams for the CSE.


 

Panel speakers:

Remy Attig, B.A., M.A. Spanish

Remy Attig, B.A., M.A. Spanish
Operations Manager - Quebec & Atlantic Canada at David Suzuki Foundation

With an academic background in Spanish literature and a professional focus on environmental and social justice work, Remy has held a variety of leadership roles in social change organizations. Currently the Operations Manager at the David Suzuki Foundation's Montreal office and consultant on nonprofit operations and financial management, he has also worked as the Director of Teva Quebec, a Montreal-based Jewish environmental organization, as well as at Project 10, an organization supporting LGBTQ+ youth, since relocating to Montreal in 2013. Remy is passionate about pickling, sewing, knitting, American Sign Language, and, most recently, surfing.

Sean Lynch, B.A.

Sean Lynch, B.A.
VP Strategic Accounts at You.i TV

Sean has gained a solid reputation for delivering creative and integrated marketing solutions for clients across North America and abroad. Known for his unique energy, creative thinking and outstanding communication skills, Sean approaches every initiative with enthusiasm and determination.

Véronique Rivest, BA German and Spanish

Véronique Rivest, BA German and Spanish
Sommelier, wine writer and educator

Véronique Rivest is the top female sommelier in the world. She is also owner of renowned wine bar, Soif. http://veroniquerivest.ca/

 

Arts and entrepreneurship: starting a business

Panel speakers:

Julie Findlay, B.A., B.Ed.

Julie Findlay, B.A., B.Ed.
Host on Daytime Ottawa.

Julie Findlay is Mom in the Know, a spokesperson for all things related to raising a family and living a happy, healthy and balanced life. A wife and mother of two, Julie has turned her teaching career into a lifelong passion of sharing with others: Promotions, Research, Brand Development, Public Speaking, spokesperson, Media Relations, Content Development, Product Marketing, social media marketing.

Laura Morris, B.A., M.A. Art History

Laura Morris, B.A., M.A. Art History

Laura Morris is a certified Feng Shui consultant, author and artist. Laura was the Feng Shui expert for the internationally syndicated lifestyle show Steven & Chris, and is the author and creator of Your Feng Shui Bedroom Design Guide. She is also the Director of Community Engagement for the International Feng Shui Guild, a large worldwide network of Feng Shui professionals. Laura is currently working on her new book A Year of Harmony: 12 Feng Shui Inspired Design Projects. Learn more at Morrisfengshui.com

Back to top

Arts | innovation

Arts innovation

La Faculté des arts est fière de vous présenter l’événement Arts|innovation qui aura lieu le vendredi 18 novembre 2016. Venez entendre des conférenciers et des panélistes ayant étudié aux Arts — diplômés, professionnels, partenaires —qui sont devenus des entrepreneurs ou qui ont décroché leur emploi par une voie non linéaire. Également au programme, un concours d’idées d’entreprises de type « Dans l’œil du dragon ».

 

Consultez le programme de la journée et inscrivez-vous!

 

Mentalité d’entrepreneur : innover avec un diplôme de la Faculté des arts

Conférencier principal

Richard Carleton, BA Arts (uOttawa)

 

 

« Penser comme un entrepreneur »

Richard Carleton, BA Arts (uOttawa)
CEO of Canadian Securities Exchange

Richard Carleton est directeur général de la Bourse des valeurs canadiennes (CNSX Markets Inc.). Il est responsable de la direction stratégique et de la gestion de l’entreprise. Avant d’obtenir ce poste, Richard a été vice-président au développement corporatif et s’occupait des équipes de technologie, d’opérations et d’échanges commerciaux de CSE.

 


Conférenciers :

Remy Attig, B.A., M.A. Spanish

Remy Attig, B.A., M.A. Espagnol
Gestionnaire des opérations — Québec et Canada Atlantique à la fondation David Suzuki

Le parcours scolaire de Remy en littérature hispanique et son intérêt professionnel pour l’environnement et la justice sociale lui ont permis d’occuper divers postes de gestion au sein d’organisations de changement social. Il est présentement gestionnaire des opérations aux bureaux de Montréal de la fondation David Suzuki et conseiller pour les opérations à buts non lucratifs et pour la gestion des finances. Après avoir déménagé à Montréal en 2013, il a également travaillé comme directeur de Teva Québec, une organisation environnementale juive de Montréal, ainsi que pour Projet 10, une organisation qui appuie les jeunes de la communauté LGBTQ+.

Sean Lynch, B.A.

Sean Lynch, B.A.
VP aux comptes stratégiques à You. i TV

Sean s’est bâti une solide réputation comme concepteur de solutions créatives de marketing intégré auprès de clients en Amérique du Nord et à l’étranger. Reconnu pour son énergie unique, sa pensée créative et ses excellentes compétences en communication, Sean aborde chaque initiative avec enthousiasme et détermination.

Véronique Rivest, BA German and Spanish

Véronique Rivest, BA allemand et espagnol (uOttawa)
Sommelière, chroniqueuse vin et éducatrice

Véronique Rivest est l’une des sommelières les plus respectées au monde. Elle est également propriétaire d’un bar à vin de grande renommée, Soif. http://veroniquerivest.ca/

 

 

Arts et entrepreneuriat : démarrer une entreprise

Julie Findlay, B.A., B.Ed.

Julie Findlay, B.A., B.Ed.
Animatrice à Daytime Ottawa

Julie Findlay est Mom in the Know, une porte-parole pour tout ce qui touche la famille et les fondements d’une vie heureuse, en santé et équilibrée. Épouse et maman de deux enfants, Julie a transformé sa carrière d’enseignante pour poursuivre sa passion de partager avec les autres. Elle a notamment occupé des postes en promotion, en recherche, en développement de marques, en relation avec les médias, en marketing de produits et en marketing sur les réseaux sociaux, en plus d’être conférencière et porte-parole.

Laura Morris, B.A., M.A. Art History

Laura Morris, B.A., M.A. Histoire de l’art

Laura Morris est une conseillère certifiée en Feng Shui, en plus d’être auteure et artiste. Laura était l’experte en Feng Shui pour Steven & Chris, une émission de mode de vie diffusée à l’échelle internationale, et est l’auteure et la créatrice du livre Your Feng Shui Bedroom Design Guide. Elle est également directrice de Community Engagement for the International Feng Shui Guild, un réseau mondial de professionnels du Feng Shui. Laura travaille actuellement sur son nouveau livre intitulé A Year of Harmony : 12 Feng Shui Inspired Design Projects. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le Morrisfengshui.com (en anglais seulement). 

Haut de page