Undergraduate programs - visual arts

The Department of Visual Arts offers four programs that respond to a variety of student's interests and needs: a Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), a Major in Visual Arts, as well as a Major and a Minor in History and Theory of Art. 

Our programs take you on an exploration of the visual arts, with a special emphasis on contemporary creation. Both programs include compulsory practical and theoretical courses that encourage both creation and reflection. The Department provides photography and media art labs as well as painting, drawing and sculpture studios. In the heart of Ottawa, you also have access to a wealth of artistic venues such as the National Gallery and the Ottawa Art Gallery. In addition, you train under the guidance of nationally and internationally recognized artists, curators, art historians and theorists. While maintaining its focus on traditional disciplines (drawing, painting, sculpture and photography), the Department also helps you discover the use of new media and technologies in the visual arts.

Back to top