People

Department of Communications - Professors

Our department is composed of individuals who collaborate closely to ensure the success of our students and research.

Professors

Regular Professors
Emeritus Professors
Adjunct and Visiting Professors
Part Time Professors

Chairs and Committees

Department Chair

Director of graduate studies

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Coordinator of Public Relations Program

Coordinator of Digital Journalism Program

Administrative Staff

Administrative Staff

Graduate Students

Doctoral Students

Gabriela Perdomo

Gabriela Perdomo

“My doctoral research focuses on how journalists confront public accusations of failure. In particular, on how journalists respond to criticism after popular ballots result in widely different outcomes than expected. Overall, I am interested in learning how journalists think about their own work and their audiences, and how that affects their practices and those of media organizations. I have worked as a journalist and have a particular interest in understanding how both the journalism profession and the media industry have changed over the past two decades. This includes examining emerging media business models, new understandings of media audiences, changing journalistic norms and roles, and new forms of storytelling prompted by technological change. My other academic interests include feminist studies, especially the intersection of women, politics, and the media. Aside from my student life, I also work as coordinator of the Digital Journalism Program at uOttawa and I am an editorial assistant for the Canadian Journal of Media Studies.”

Pascale Dangoisse

Pascal Dangoisse

“My research interest lies within the study of political discourse and communication, mediated and unmediated, on the topics of feminism in Canada. I am interested in understanding how liberal politicians talk about feminist topics, women’s rights, and women in general and how that relates back to women living in Canada. I also have an interest in social movements and activism; how do movements initially form and evolve, how and why people decide to act.As a side project to my studies, I am currently a research assistant under the supervision of Constance Crompton for the Lesbian and Gay Liberation in Canada project.”

Elodie Song

Elodie Song


“My main research area falls in Global Learning Organization (GLO) and online trust building. I am currently focusing on how global e-learning community members can build trust in order to construct a social identity, in particular, global citizenship based on cosmopolitanism. In this approach, cosmopolitanism based on human equality and diversity provides an ethical foundation for trust building in an intercultural e-learning environment. I aim to explore whether this synergistic relationship between cosmopolitanism and the collaborative nature of e-learning can activate interpersonal relationship amongst culturally diverse members. I believe that such a project, promoting a global citizen identity, is urgently needed for humanity in the future.”

Eric Paulhus

Éric Paulhus

“My research is about the usage made by the Innu people of radio stations, on their reserves, with regards to language stabilization and of their culture. Be it in socio-economical markets where they are the majority or the minority, but exposed nonetheless to the settlers’ culture, I take interest in knowing the impact an Innu-language radio has on its populations’ usage on a daily basis and not only during special events (Indigenous games or Pow Wows, for example). Having worked in the field of broadcasting for close to 20 years (radio and television), I have a special liking for the radio, a medium that is, like are Indigenous cultures, the best way to transmit educational materials orally. My anthropological research interests and my love of radio converged for this thesis that, even before its’ terrain-study portion began, has been a passion of mine for some years. Adding to the fact that I am a doctoral candidate, I have also given a conference about the Indigenous narrative, I have an article being approved for publication and work both as a T.A. at the University of Ottawa and as a part-time teacher at UQO.”

Rodrigues Rouleau

Philippe Rodrigues-Rouleau

“My research interests revolve around journalism and media reception studies. I am particularly interested in journalistic practices and its contents, as well as in the sociology of journalism and in international journalism. I am currently an editorial assistant for The Canadian Journal of Media Studies, an online peer-reviewed journal edited by professor Philippe Ross. I have previously worked as a research assistant for the Groupe de recherche sur les mutations du journalisme (GRMJ) (2009-2012) at Université Laval and for the Centre d’études sur les médias (2015-2016). During those years as a research assistant, I took part in projects about: the adaptation of public service media to digital technologies; the interaction between media reporters and actors from the judicial world; the media coverage of the 2015 Canadian federal election by CBC/Radio-Canada; the evolution of advertising in the Montreal-based newspaper Le Devoir; the evolution of TV news bulletins in Québec from the sixties until now.”

Jennifer Dumoulin


“My dissertation research focuses on the use of monsters as metaphors in science fiction, in fantasy literature and in graphic novels to discuss the lived experience of people living with HIV/AIDS. Outside of my dissertation, I'm also interested in the creation and maintenance online communities and collective identities through the use of social media.” said Jennifer Dumoulin

 

Post Doctoral Students 

Anna Sendra Toset

Anna Sendra Toset


“My research interests focuses on analysing the processes of health communication in social media, and on how digital health affects the relationship between patients and providers. I'm particularly interested in the study of interpersonal communication in noncommunicable diseases and in the design of health interventions from the perspective of health communication. I'm currently working in the project Integrated Parkinson Care Networks: addressing complex care in Parkinson disease in contemporary society (iCARE-PD), a multidisciplinary study that uses a patient-centred approach to design a new care model for Parkinson sufferers.“

Students Committees

CSA

 

The Communication Students' Association (CSA) is a non-profit organization that represents over 1500 undergraduate students enrolled in the department of Communications at the University of Ottawa.Here to enhance your student experience, CSA is our undergraduate student association. Visit our web page or Facebook page to find out more information about our activities.
 

 

 

CGSA

 

Our Communication Graduate Student Association, CGSA/AEDC, is here to represent and support our graduate students. Visit our web page to find out more information on our activities.You can also visit and join the Facebook page to find out more about our activities.

Back to top

Notre équipe

Département de communication - Professeurs

Notre département est composé de personnes qui collaborent étroitement pour assurer le succès de nos étudiants et de la recherche.

Professeurs

Professeurs réguliers
Professeurs émérites
Professeurs auxiliaires
Professeurs adjoints

Directeurs et comités

Directeur du département

Directeur des études supérieures

Responsable des études de premier cycle

Responsable des relations publiques

Coordonatrice programme de journalisme numérique

Personnel administratif

Personnel administratif

Étudiants diplômés

Recherche des étudiants en doctorat

Gabriela Perdomo

Gabriela Perdomo

« Ma recherche porte sur la manière dont les journalistes réagissent aux critiques publiques, par exemple lorsque des procès électoraux se terminent avec des résultats inattendus. Dans l'ensemble, je m'intéresse à comprendre que pensent les journalistes quant à leur propre travail et à leurs audiences, et comment cela affecte leurs pratiques et celles des organisations médiatiques. J'ai une formation en journalisme et je suis particulièrement passionnée par l’étude des changements survenus dans ce domaine au cours des deux dernières décennies. Mes intérêts de recherche portent également sur l’examen des modèles commerciaux des nouveaux médias, l’évolution des normes et des rôles journalistiques et les nouvelles formes de narration suscitées par les changements technologiques. Je m'intéresse également aux études féministes, en particulier à l'intersection femmes/politique/médias. En plus d'être candidate au doctorat, je travaille comme coordonnatrice du Programme de journalisme numérique à uOttawa et je suis assistante de rédaction pour la Revue canadienne des études sur les médias. »

 

Pascale Dangoisse

Pascale Dangoisse


« Mes intérêts de recherche portent sur l’étude critique des communications politiques canadiennes, médiatisées ou non, sur tout ce qui touche au sujet du féminisme. J’aimerais comprendre les relations qu’il existe entre la façon dont les politiciens libéraux parlent du sujet du féminisme, du droit des femmes et des femmes en général et la compréhension que les femmes vivant au Canada se font de ce discours et se sentent interpellée pas celui-ci. J’ai aussi un intérêt particulier pour les mouvements sociaux et l’activisme; pourquoi et comment est-ce que les Canadiennes décident de participer ou non dans un mouvement social, et comment est-ce qu’un mouvement évolue? En plus de mes études, je travaille comme assistante de recherche pour le projet Lesbian and Gay Liberation in Canada sous la direction de Constance Crompton.»

 

 

Elodie Song

Elodie Song

« Mon principal sujet de recherche porte sur le Global Learning Organization (GLO) et la construction de confiance en ligne. J’essaie actuellement d’identifier les mécanismes par lesquels les membres d’une communauté d’apprentissage en ligne internationale développent la confiance requise pour former une identité sociale, plus particulièrement une citoyenneté mondiale basée sur le cosmopolitisme. Le cosmopolitisme fondé sur l’égalité et la diversité favorise le développement de la confiance dans les environnements interculturels d’apprentissage en ligne. Mon objectif consiste à déterminer si cette relation synergique entre le cosmopolitisme et la nature collaborative de l’apprentissage en ligne peut favoriser les relations interpersonnelles entre membres de communautés culturelles diverses. J’estime qu’une telle démarche visant à promouvoir une citoyenneté cosmopolite s’impose de façon urgente pour l’avenir de l’humanité. »


 

Rodrigues Rouleau

Philippe Rodrigues-Rouleau

«Mes intérêts de recherche portent sur le journalisme et les études de réception médiatique. Je suis plus particulièrement intéressé par les pratiques et les contenus journalistiques, par la sociologie du journalisme et par le journalisme international. Je suis actuellement adjoint de rédaction pour la Revue canadienne d'études médiatiques/The Canadian Journal of Media Studies, un journal en ligne évalué par les pairs édité par le professeur Philippe Ross. J'ai travaillé auparavant comme assistant de recherche pour le Groupe de recherche sur les mutations du journalisme (2009-2012) à l'Université Laval et pour le Centre d'études sur les médias (2015-2016). Durant ces années en tant qu’assistant de recherche, j’ai participé à des projets sur: l’adaptation des médias de service public aux technologies numériques; l’interaction entre les journalistes et les acteurs du monde judiciaire; la couverture médiatique de l’élection fédérale canadienne de 2015 par CBC/Radio-Canada; l’évolution de la publicité dans le journal montréalais Le Devoir; ainsi que l’évolution des bulletins de nouvelles télévisées au Québec des années soixante jusqu’à maintenant».

 

 

 

Eric Paulhus

Éric Paulhus

Ma recherche porte sur l’utilisation que fait le peuple Innu des stations de radios, sur leurs réserves, dans l’optique de la protection de leur langue maternelle et de leur culture. Que ce soit dans des marchés socio-économiques où ils sont majoritaires ou minoritaires, mais exposés à la culture des colons, je m’intéresse à connaître l’impact de la radio en langue Innue sur l’utilisation de celle-ci dans la communauté, sur une base journalière et pas seulement lors d’événements spéciaux (jeux autochtones ou Pow Wows, par exemple). Ayant œuvré près de 20 ans dans le monde des médias (radio et télévision), j’ai un attrait particulier pour la radio qui est, comme le sont les cultures autochtones, le meilleur moyen de transmettre une éducation par l’oralité. Mes intérêts de recherches anthropologiques et mon amour de la radio ont convergé pour cette thèse qui, avant même d’avoir entamé son étude terrain, me passionne depuis déjà longtemps. En plus d’être candidat au doctorat, j’ai donné une conférence sur la trame narrative autochtone, ai un article en cours d’approbation pour publication et œuvre à la fois comme assistant professoral et comme chargé de cours à l’UQO et à l’Université d’Ottawa.


 

Jennifer Dumoulin


« Ma recherche de thèse se concentre sur l'utilisation de monstres comme métaphores dans la science-fiction, dans la littérature fantastique et dans les romans graphiques pour discuter de l'expérience vécue par des personnes vivant avec le VIH/Sida. En dehors de ma thèse, je m'intéresse également à la création et à la maintenance des communautés en ligne et des identités collectives à travers l'utilisation des médias sociaux. » de Jennifer Dumoulin

Comités des étudiants

CSA

 

L’Association des étudiant(e)s en communication (l’AÉÉC) est un organisme à but non lucratif qui représente plus de 1,500 étudiants de premier cycle inscrit au Département de communication à l’Université d’Ottawa. AÉÉC est notre association étudiante de premier cycle qui est ici pour améliorer votre expérience étudiante. Pour en savoir d'avantage sur notre rôle et nos activités visitez notre site ou notre page Facebook.
 

 

CGSA

 

Our Geography Graduate Student Association, CGSA/AEDC, is here to represent and support our graduate students. Visit our web page to find out more information on our activities.You can also visit and join the Facebook page to find out more about our Department

Haut de page