Research Awards

Professor of the Year Award

The Professor of the Year Award annually recognizes the excellence of one of the Faculty of Arts' professors in three areas: teaching, research/creation and service to the university community.


Boulou Ebanda de B’béri-Professor of the Year Award

Boulou Ebanda de B’béri

Founding director of the Audiovisual Media Lab for the Study of Cultures and Societies as well as professor of media studies and intercultural communication, Boulou Ebanda de B’béri joined the Department of Communication in 2004.

Professor de B'béri is an internationally recognized expert in media and cultural studies. As principal researcher of a Community-University Research Alliance project, he studied Canadians’ historical amnesia with respect to the contribution of Black pioneers in the Dawn Settlement of Chatham-Kent, Ontario, in the early 19th century. For this project, he focused on the implementation of strategies to combat slavery and to promote civil rights across Canada, the United States of America and elsewhere in the world. Today, Professor de B'béri studies the transatlantic relationship of Canada's black presses in the 19th and 20th centuries.

For Professor de B'béri, the Faculty of Arts' Professor of the Year Award represents more than an individual award but a prize for the entire African community, for which he has an ethical responsibility and is compelled to be a role model. He adds that "for all these Africans, I will forever remain the first professor of African origin – a figure with whom they can identify – to have been Professor of the Year of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Ottawa, and that means something, it is more than the Award!” Congratulations!


Early Researcher of the Year Award

The Early Researcher of the Year Award recognizes the exceptional work of a researcher or an artist among the regular professors of the Faculty of arts who is in the beginnings of their career.


Beverly Baker-Early Researcher of the Year Award

Beverly Baker

Beverly Baker is an Associate Professor and Director of Language Assessment at the Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute and is Director of the Institute’s Language Assessment Research Group. An internationally known applied linguist, she is widely published in the areas of language assessment and teacher development and has presented her work at dozens of practitioner and researcher conferences in more than 10 countries. Beverly is also recognized internationally for her service with the International Language Testing Association, and was a founding member of the Canadian Association of Language Assessment (CALA). Beverly’s current funded programs of research involve team collaboration with researchers as well as practitioners, focusing on three areas: Novice ESL and FSL language teacher identity formation; Indigenous language revitalization and assessment in a Mi’kmaq community; and language assessment and teacher development in Haiti.  She is highly successful in securing external research funds. In the past 7 years, she has received as Principal and Co-Investigator nearly $1M from SSHRC, government agencies, and international applied linguistics and language assessment organizations. Beverly was also the recipient of the 2019 Young Researcher of the Year Award of the University of Ottawa. 

Other awards

Award  Organization



Young researcher of the year


Beverly Baker 


Karsh Award

City of Ottawa Andrew Wright ARV

Prix André-Laurendeau

ACFAS Shana Poplack LIN


Royal Society of Canada Peter Beyer CLA


Royal Society of Canada Gilles Comeau MUS


Royal Society College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists Denis Lacelle GEO


Award  Organization



Ursula Franklin Award in Gender Studies

Royal Society of Canada

Ruby Heap 


Order of Canada

Governor General

Barry Wellar


Ordre des francophones d'Amérique

Conseil supérieur de la langue française

France Martineau


Honorary Doctorate

University College Dublin

Shana Poplack



Conseil national des aînés

Martine Lagacé


Canadian Jewish Literary Award (Yiddish)

Canadian Jewish Literary Awards

Seymour Mayne


Excellence in Research Award


Lori Beaman


Honorary Doctorate

Uppsala University

Lori Beaman


Lifetime Achievement Award

Ontario Counsel of University Libraries

Leslie Weir


Vinay and Darbelnet Prize for Best Article

Canadian Association for Translation Studies

Lynne Bowker



Award  Organization Name


Impact Award (Insight category)

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

Lori Beaman



Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Jitse Dijkstra


Senate 150th Anniversary Medal

Senate of Canada

Lucie Hotte



Royal Society of Canada

Lucie Hotte


National achievement award

Canadian Linguistic association

France Martineau


Back to top