ALUMNI SERIES: The Evolution of Style

Posted on Friday, February 2, 2018

Friday, February 2, 2018 - 12 noon

Huguette Labelle Hall, Tabaret Hall

Laura Nerenberg, violin

Thomas Annand, piano

The Evolution of Style

Join pianist, Thomas Annand and U of O alumna, violinist, Laura Nerenberg as they explore the evolution of the most common instrumental partnership -- that between violin and piano -- in three works of sparkling contrasts and pleasing similarities. Mozart's brooding Sonata in E Minor displays Beethovenian outbursts and motivic elaboration. Meanwhile, the second movement of Beethoven's Sonata in Eb Major is certainly one of his most lyrical movements of the genre. In his G Major Sonata, the last he wrote, a sunny, more contemplative and "pastoral" Beethoven emerges, still fiery at times, but progressively glowing with the acceptance of age and experience.


Sonata in E Minor for Piano and Violin K.304 (1778) | Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

       I. Allegro
      II. Tempo di Minuetto

Sonata No. 3 in E-flat Major for Piano and Violin, Op. 12, No. 3 (1797/98) | Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

       I. Allegro con spirito
      II. Adagio con molta espressione
     III. Rondo: Allegro molto

Sonata No. 10 in G Major for Piano and Violin, Op. 96 (1812) | Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

       I. Allegro moderato
      II. Adagio espressivo
     III. Scherzo
     IV. Poco Allegretto


Thomas Annand, piano: A stalwart in Ottawa's classical music scene since his move in 1992 to become Music Director and Organist at St. Andrew's Church, Thomas Annand has established himself as one of the region's most versatile musicians. Audiences will recognize him at the organ, or the harpsichord, or the celesta, or on the conductor's podium with such ensembles as NACO, Les Violons du Roy, Thirteen Strings and Capital BrassWorks. Of course, he is equally at ease at the piano, collaborating with many vocalists and instrumentalists.

Laura Nerenberg, violin: Montreal-born violinist Laura Nerenberg, finds great pleasure in exploring music of all eras. A founding member of Gatineau's "Ensemble Prisme" and the Ottawa Baroque Consort, she has many years' experience playing chamber music in the region. She is also an avid participant in Ottawa's jazz scene, playing with Courage4 and the Ottawa Jazz Orchestra, as soloist and concertmaster. Laura is also active as a Suzuki violin and improvisation teacher, working with students aged 3 to 18.


Thomas Annand and Laura Nerenberg have been performing as a duo since 2016. They are undertaking a multi-year, multi-venue project performing all ten Sonatas for Piano and Violin by Ludwig van Beethoven. This is the second concert in this undertaking, having performed Sonatas #4, #5 and #6 in 2016. Along with cellist, Daniel Parker, they founded the Triptych Piano Trio in 2016, which has upcoming concerts in March and May, 2018.


Back to top