Brahms & Messiaen: Freed from Love, Freed from Time

Posted on Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Photo montage of the 8 musicians

The School of Music of the University of Ottawa is pleased to present the season launch concert of the Music at Tabaret 2018-2019 series on Sunday, October 14 at 2:00 p.m. in Huguette Labelle Hall (Room 112), Tabaret Hall, 550 Cumberland Street with performances by our brilliant team of performance faculty joined by two exceptional student musicians. Brahms & Messiaen – Freed from Love, Freed from Time features Sofia-Marie Bergeron, Yehonatan Berick and Jessica Linnebach (violin); Alisa Klebanov and Yehonatan Berick (viola); Paul Marleyn (cello); Joel Quarrington (double-bass); Kimball Sykes (clarinet); and David Jalbert (piano).

BRAHMS:  String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Op. 36
MESSIAEN: Quartet for the End of Time

The Sextet in G was written by Brahms after he broke off his engagement to Agathe von Siebold, a singer in Göttingen. After composing the work, the composer noted to a friend, "Here I have freed myself from my last love.” Deemed as one of his most important works, the Quartet for the End of Time was composed by French composer Olivier Messiaen while he was a prisoner of war held in German captivity during World War II.  The work received its premiere performance by him and his fellow prisoners on a rainy day in January 1941, playing it on a ragtag assemblage of instruments in front of a rapt crowd of 400 inmates and guards.

Tickets on Eventbrite.

Back to top